WIAW #3: Coconut Flour is Weird

It’s Wed. Nes. Day. So what does that mean? I’m linking up with Peas & Crayons for What I Ate Wednesday!

I woke up this morning craving a bowl of oatmeal and couldn’t convince my mind that something else might sound better. So right now I’m currently eating a bowl of oatmeal with peanut butter, strawberries, bananas, topped with cinnamon and honey.

WIAW jun 18 oatmeal

Now let’s see what else has graced my plate these last few days. Let’s start with more breakfast food.

WIAW 2 Jun 18Left: Tuesday morning I made protein pancakes for my breakfast. Once again I had some issues with the shape not looking like a normal pancake. They weren’t as bad as my continental pancakes, but still they weren’t pretty. This one is alright, but the second one…well there’s a reason it’s not pictured.

Right: I made some Paleo Pancakes with coconut flour. I wish I could say they were the best pancakes ever, but that coconut flour is a bit weird. My pancakes kind of tasted like those powdered donuts you get at a convenience store and I’m not a fan of those. They were also kind of dry. Next time I may try to use less coconut flour and add something in to moisten them up more like a banana.

WIAW 4 Jun 18Left: My Mom cooked dinner for my family, my grandpa, and my sister’s boyfriend the other night. We had smoked pork chops, baked potato, and a lettuce wedge. Those smoked porch chops were sooo good! I didn’t even have to break out the Heinz 57!

Right: After church on Father’s Day we went to a local favorite Mexican food restaurant. After devouring some chips and salsa, my enchiladas arrived. I ordered chicken enchiladas with green sauce and no cheese. I didn’t even miss the cheese. They were just as delicious without it! I’m still trying not to eat dairy for the sake of my complexion, but I’m honestly doing an awful job at avoiding it.

WIAW 1 Jun 18 Bowls of fruit have been an after lunch or dinner favorite lately. Lately I’ve been adding a spoonful of cool whip to sweeten things up. Most of the time it’s unnecessary, but when you have some really bitter blackberries it’s a lifesaver. And notice in the red bowl on the right there is a tiny slice of pound cake. Don’t ever take your first bite of pound cake. It’s pretty hard to resist.

WIAW 5 Jun 18Left: I had oatmeal for breakfast with a side of coffee. My coffee consumption is either off or on. I usually have a cup, but sometimes I can’t even drink half of it before it makes my stomach feel not-so-pleasant. I’m not sure if it’s the creamer or the coffee, but I need to start drinking some form of a replacement.

Right: Yesterday for lunch I had a almond butter and jelly sandwich on wheat bread. You really can never go wrong with a sandwich like that. I also had some of the chopped salad my mom made the night before. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the chopped salad. It was a lot easier for me to eat this salad than normal ones.

WIAW 5 Jun 17Right: Sunday afternoon my mom and I were craving something chocolatey with a milkshake taste. I made us some coffee shakes that were semi-healthy. Until I put whip cream on top and some chocolate syrup. We both concluded that they tasted better when the ice had melted a bit.

Left: Quest bars have been making an appearance every now and then as a snack. I had this cookie dough bar while I was driving the tractor the other afternoon. I love Quest bars. I need more of those in my life. Pronto.

Have you used coconut flour before? What is one of your favorite things you’ve eaten lately?

 

7 thoughts on “WIAW #3: Coconut Flour is Weird

  1. Mhmm I’m mostly an oatmeal girl in the morning as well since, well, does anything sound better than a big filling bowl of goodness? And I LOVE bowls of fresh fruit for a light dessert after dinner as well! So refreshing and they don’t weigh you down in the least :).

  2. I’m really hit or miss with coconut flour-it works in somethings and is just flat our weird in others! I’ve read that you’re supposed to add liquid when making anything with it, although in the past I’ve added too much and ended up with glop..

  3. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud: Towww Up | The Blonde In Black

  4. Pingback: WIAW: Baking from The Paleo Kitchen | The Blonde In Black

Leave a comment